The Long Finger…… (I must do that)


Image result for end of college

I will, says I, you will what says she, study, study and learn

She laughs aloud, a little too loud, and only then looks down,

I’m sorry she says, looking at me again with some concern,

I know you will but when she says , this time without a frown.

 

I want to read, I must read, I need to read, I might just read,

I’ll write that now, I’ll write that tomorrow, it must be in tonight

Head down, pen in hand, anxiety a fresh, just breathe, just breathe,

I know what to do, how to do it, sit still don’t take flight.

 

It’s over now semester one, a blur of stress has been and gone.

Put my stuff away, reclaim my life, address my friends, and hold my wife,

Summers here its freezing cold, no wrapping up, the flip flops on,

The kindles out, its loaded down, relaxing, reading, regain my life.

 

Adrian McKenna is a Social Care Professional ; he has worked for many years with young people and adults in residential care, detention services, mental health services and post-adoption services. He currently works with a large Dublin-based charity. He is a Member of Social Care Ireland, The Irish Association of Social Care Workers, Social Justice Ireland and sits on the Social Care Workers Board at CORU.

Leave a Reply

