Sleep the elusive death…


 

Head of an Old Man in a Cap

Sleep comes easy to me …. I die nightly

The death of momentary slumber, the heart brought to a resting pace.

Behind the lidded eye there is nothing but stillness,

The silence that defines this space

 

I breathe , one ,two, three ,four ,five and gasp on six I’m still alive,

But cannot hear and cannot see cause sleep still has a hold of me .

I live a story a parallel view, a dream of sorts but real I don’t contrive,

The resting state so close to death just keeps me here but could set me free.

 

Born in a Dublin Catholic Mother and Baby Home in 1965, Married with one adult son, I am a front-line social care professional and Masters level student. Member of CORU working on the registration of the Social care profession.I have worked for many years with young people and adults in residential care, detention services, mental health services and post-adoption services. I currently work with a large Dublin-based charity. These opinions are entirely My own unless otherwise indicated.